We will help organize your trip:
By phone: +998 (65) 223-39-31
E-mail: tashrif.tours@gmail.com
Skype: tashrif.tours


Information about Uzbekistan:
   
Tashkent
Short review of Tashkent
Sights of Tashkent
Samarkand
Short review of Samarkand
Sights of Samarkand
Bukhara
Short review of Bukhara
Historical Background of Bukhara
Sights of Bukhara
Khiva
Short review of Khiva
Sights of Khiva
Ferghana Valley
Short review
Historical Background
Outstanding people of Ferghana
Short review of Kokand
Short review of Margilan
Short review of Kuva
Short review of Kokand
Outstanding people of Kokand
Short review of Namangan
Architecture and monuments Namangan
Outstanding people of Namangan
Ancient settlement of Akhsikent
Short review of Chust
Architecture and monuments of Andijan
Short review of Ancient settlement of Akhsikent
Short review of Ancient settlement of Akhsikent
Short review of Ancient settlement of Akhsikent
Short review of Ancient settlement of Akhsikent
Ancient Khorezm
Fortress Toprak-Kala (2-3 cc.), (4-6 cc.)
Fortress Ayaz-Kala (4-2 cc. BC)
Koy-Kyrylgan Kala, fortress and temple
Fortress of Kyrk-Kyz Kala (1-2 cc., 12-13 cc. A.D.)
Ancient civilization of thousand fortresses
Lost Khorezm
Karakalpakstan
Site of ancient settlement Mizdahkan
Nuratau-Kyzylkum Biosphere Reserve
Natural environment
Ecological and ethnographic tourism
Climate
People and social environment
Rules of Ecotourism
Traditions
Wedding traditions in Bukhara
Wedding traditions in Samarkand
 

Sights of Tashkent

Peoples' Friendship Square

Madrasah Sheikh Abdulqasim (XVI century)

Peoples' Friendship Square is an architectural complex, that includes a huge concert hall and unique in architecture a building of the parliament, a sculptural group of blacksmiths' family - Shamahmedovs, who during World War II adopted 15 orphans; a park with an artificial lake and a monument to Alisher Navoi and the Madrasah Sheikh Abdulqasim (XVI).

Applied art museum

Applied art museum

Applied art museum is a place, where more than four thousand exhibits and art and craft subjects (ceramics, gold sewing, carpets, pictures, silk and jeweller ornaments) of the best handicraftsmen of Uzbekistan arepresented.

The museum, constructed in the beginning of XX century, is located in a building of palace, which once was belonged to the Russian Diplomat Aliksandrovich Polovtsev, known for his quivering attitude to architecture and art. The palace is very richly decorated by ganch and wooden carving inside.

 

Mausoleum of Zangi-ata and Ambar-bibi (XIV century)

Sheikh Ali Khoja allas Zangi-ata lived in the end of XII - the beginning of XIII centuries. He belonged to the Arabian nobility and had a dark skin («занги»-dark-skinned). Zangi-ata was the fifth murid of sufi sheikh Ahmad Jassavi. Among his teachers there was his father - Taj Khoja and the favourite disciple of Jassavi - Hakim-ata (Suleyman Bakirgani).

Having got sufi knowledge and having received blessing from Hakima-Ata, Zangi-ata had come back to Shash region and had begun his own way as sheikh-preacher.

Mausoleum of Zangi-ata and Ambar-bibi (XIV century)

Zangi-ata died in 1258. In vicinities of Tashkent at a tomb of holy Zangi-ata with time a huge memorial complex was erected. The construction of Zangi-ata and his wife's mausoleum was begun by order of Amir Timur.

Ambar-bibi, or in another way, Ambar-apa was the wife of Zangi-ata. Holy Ambar-bibi was considered as the patroness of fertility and motherhood.

Her tombstone, consisted of two prismatic stones, placed as steps, is instructed by pieces of the majolica, taken from the dome of Zangi-ata mausoleum. The first tombstone belonged to Ambar-bibi, and the second one to Ulug Podsho, mother of Hakim-ata, follower of Ahmad Jassavi.

The complex consists of 3 parts: a big garden, an architectural ensemble of 14-19th centuries and a cemetery with the mausoleum of Ambar-bibi. The main part of the complex is located around the tomb of Zangi-ata (14-15th centuries). In the mausoleum the magnificent gravestone, covered with art carving, has remained since Amir Timur's times. In 1870 in front of the mausoleum of Zangi-ata Namozgoh Mosque was built. In the end of XIX - the beginning of XX centuries there was built madrasah here. Later, in the middle of the yard a minaret was built.

Amir Timur sqaure

museum of Temurids' Amir Timur sqaure (former Lenin's square) is situated in the centre of the city. Here nearby the monument, which symbolizes independent Uzbekistan, holidays and parades are held.

The square is the main vacation spot of native and foreign people of Tashkent. On the one hand of the suare there are situated official buildings, such as the Cabinet of Ministies and a number of other Ministries, the state library, and on the other hand some fountains adjoined to it.

At the centre of the park there is the monument to Amir Timur (Tamerlane). On the right side from square the state museum of Temurids', founded in 1997.

The underground

Tashkent is the only city in the Central Asia, where there is the underground. The construction of the underground has begun in 1973, and in 1977 the main line, including 9 stations, has been enabled. The construction of the second line was completed to 1984. Now the extent of lines of the underground is 47 km. Each station of the underground has the original and exclusive design. By its richness and uniqueness of the design Tashkent underground can be considered as one of the most beautiful underground in the world.

 

 

Opera and Ballet Theater named after Alisher Navoi

The building of theater is located near the Independence or Amir Timur sqaure, in the central part of the city. On the right side of it there is the central department store, on the opposite of Tashkent Palace Hotel. In front of the theatre there is a small square, with, perhaps, the most beautiful fountain in Tashkent, displayed as a cotton flower.

Opera and Ballet Theater named after Alisher Navoi The architecture of the building is very harmonious and proportional. The facade is decorated with marble columns. The theater building is almost not affected after an earthquake in 1966. It was designed by Russian architect Shusev, who also was the architect of Lenin's mausoleum in Moscow.

The theatre building was built by hands of the Japanese prisoners of war in the end of 1947. Inside the building there is a magnificent lobby, which direct to 6 rooms, each of which is dedicated to any region of Uzbekistan. Motives of drawings are taken from the poems of Alisher Navoi and are embodied in a thin carving on the ceiling and walls. The theatre admit 1400 spectators. The repertoire of the theatre includes the international operas, and also Uzbek folklore songs and dances.

The Independence Sqaure and The Tomb of Unknown Soldier

The Independence sqaure (the former cathedral sqaure) was considered as the largest city sqaure of Soviet Union. This most attractive place in the city is surrounded by public buildings and fountains. The Orthodox church and a belltower was adjoined to the sqaure before, but destroyed in 1930 by the Soviet government.

In 1970 Lenin's statue, completely made of a granite, was established in the sqaure. After declaration of independence by Uzbekistan government, the huge globe with the image of borders of Uzbekistan on a face sheet, has replaced Lenin's statue.

Every year on 1st September, declared as Independence Day of Uzbekistan, on the sqaure there are held festivals and big concerts with performance of actors, dancers from all over Uzbekistan. This holiday is considered the main state holiday of Uzbekistan.

Shaykhantahur Ensemble

Near to Alisher Navoi's museum there are 3 mausoleums, constructed in XVII century. This is the only memorial complex of remained constructions of the Muslim architecture, dated XVII century. The biggest of them is the mausoleum of Yunus Khan, descendant of Genghis Khan and the grandfather of Babur-khan. The double dome and a portal have been constructed by his son. The blue mosaic tile was recently restored.

Behind the building there is Restoration Institute, where experts in manufacturing of glazing tile work. These glazing tiles are used all over Uzbekistan, but, for each region there is used colour of glaze inherent in it.

In a small garden to the east there is the mausoleum of Shaykhantahur, reconstructed in 19th century. The metal covering of domes protects them from the hot Tashkent sun. Behind the mausoleum there is Kaldirgach Biy mausoleum, built in the beginning of XV century, and known for its pyramidal domes with 12 corners.

Monument to Victims of Earthquake

This is the part of monumental Soviet architecture. The granite stones surrounding a monument represent restoration and reconstruction of the city after the catastrophic earthquake, which have almost razed Tashkent to the ground. On the big boulder there is fixed the time of the first earth tremor. The earthquake intency of 7.5 points on the Richter scale is described as «a hell in reality» by those who, has survived. There were about 1000 earth tremors during the earthquake.

Exact figures are unknown, but according to unofficial datas, more than quarters of one million people were left homeless as result of earthquake. Stronger destructions were in the old city.

Soon after earthquake all 15 republics of Soviet Union have united for reconstructing the largest city of Central Asia. It was time of mass Russian immigration to Uzbekistan

Chimgan Mountains Chimgan Mountains

Ski resort of Chimgan is located in 80 km from Tashkent in east Tjan-Shang at height of 1500 metres above sea level. During winter time this is the finest place for skiing, and in summer thousand people spend their days off here.

In mountains there are wonderful high quality resorts and hotels, which are ready to accept guests, wishing to have a rest in mountains and to drive on skis.