The fortress is located 27 kilometers north of the city Biruni. The monument was first opened in 1938 by members HAEE.
The fortress stands on the plain and has the shape of almost close to the square of the size of 65X63 m. The angles of the building directed to the cardinal points. The outer wall was cut through two tiers of arrow-shaped loopholes. It was built probably as a defensive fortress and was part of a chain of Khorezm fortifications, established by the State to protect the north-eastern frontiers of ancient Khorezm.
Simultaneously, the fortress was the center of agricultural region and the hub of caravan routes across the mountain ridge Sultanuizdag.
The fortress consisted of two, adjacent to each other parts of different layouts. Probably in the beginning of BC. the fortress was repaired and the construction of its walls changed: the ground floor of shooting gallery was laid with square mudbrick.
In the place of rendezvous parts there were erected towers. Corner towers were without cameras. The fortress wall east of the fortress was narrower than in the west.
Both parts of the fortress, probably, be communicated through the gate in the middle of the east wall of the oval building.
There a wall forms open-loop in the west end, which is directed into the oval part of the fortress. The sides of the loop are limited from the north and the south by the corridor, tapering to the west.
Little Kyrk-Kyz Kala has been attributed to the earliest fortifications of Khorezm of the ancient period.